Rideing, heat and dehydration

I am an athletic trainer who works in the Palm Springs area of So Calif, who also has a trike. After experiencing dehydration myself while riding, I have long wondered how much of a problem this is perceived to be, how many realize what they may have experienced and how many accidents may have been caused by the mental fog resulting from the dehydration?

How many think this worth looking into? What have been your experiences? And would the information and knowledge that I have in the field of Sports Medicine be accepted and better yet utilized by the riding community both three and two wheel?

I am looking forward to your replies and input in this matter.

Hey pd...

I know the importance of drinking water BEFORE I feel thirsty, and make a point of it every day, but particularly when out riding as I don't want to get dehydrated! The only time I've experienced it was while riding through the Badlands on a day well over 100 degrees, and no water-stops readily available. I never reached the point of disorientation, but I sure did desperately feel the need to cool down and DRINK!!!!!

I would think that any wisdom you could share that would promote safety and happy riding would be welcomed. How, in particular, were you thinking of using your information? Your question almost sounds as though you have a business idea in mind.

This really isn't much of an issue for me. I have a very very low tolerance to hot weather. Most of my riding is only done in the spring and fall and on the occasional cool summer days and mild winter days. So as you can see, I do everything possible to avoid being out in hot weather!

We only get a few occasional hot day here in Conn. Most riding is done in 75 deg + or- 5 deg. Once I did get that woosiy feeling and pulled over. There was a great article in our Wing World Mag. on how to tell if you or your ridding friend are experiencing it. Maybe you could fill us in on the outward signs