2002 Boom Lowrider trike

Have recently purchased above trike. It has two(2) wires adjacent to the gearstick lever that are disconnected from their respective terminals. I thought they might have been for the reverse light but the light works with them disconnected. I am wondering what their function is. When connected the trike starts but doesnt drive. The engine cuts out. Could it be some portion of an antitheft device???? Trike goes great but I am wondering why these wires are there and why they are disconnected??????!!!

Thanks in anticipation

Plumma

Downunder

Hello Plumma.....Now not sure but I would agree with the anti theft device,look for a place that houses a switch.By the way I think a Boom and Rawaco just.....ROCKS....

Plumma: I am no mechanic, I have a 2006 Low Rider. The two wires you have are near the gear shifter? If they are on the other side near the parking brake it could be a problem. On mine if you have the parking brake on, you can start in neutral, but not put it in gear. If you are in gear, and running and you pull even slightly on the parking brake, it acts like an instant kill switch. Just my 2 cents worth. Just ordered a part for mine from Germany, can't wait for it to get here so I can get back to riding it.

Have recently purchased above trike. It has two(2) wires adjacent to the gearstick lever that are disconnected from their respective terminals. I thought they might have been for the reverse light but the light works with them disconnected. I am wondering what their function is.

When connected the trike starts but doesnt drive. The engine cuts out. Could it be some portion of an antitheft device???? Trike goes great but I am wondering why these wires are there and why they are disconnected??????!!!

Thanks in anticipation

Plumma

Downunder

Welcome to the Trike Talk Community