The Traditional Motorcycle Wave

FRR

Oct 12, 2012
Batavia Ohio
When I started riding back in the 1960's every time I passed another 2 wheeler we would always wave. By the 1980's I noticed that traditional wave was changing. Jap bikers always waved, some Harley riders would only wave to other Harley riders. Ever since the 1990's I have owned both, a Wing and a Harley. Last year I converted my Wing to a Trike. Now I see a real change. I'm told many Harley riders don't consider trike riders as "real motorcyclists", even Triglide owners. Now, when I ride my Harley everyone waves, when I ride my Wing Most folks wave, but now that I've converted my Wing FEWER folks are waving. I'm just wondering of any other trikers have noticed anything like this? We have a local eating place near me that has "bike night" every Wednesday. They actually segregate the Trikes over on the side where no one comes. They claim trikes " take up too much room to part with the 2 wheelers. Last night 1/2 the parking lot was empty, but we were still relegated over to the side. What are some of you folks experiencing in regard to this "wave issue". Is it just a Southern Ohio thing?

I wave if they do not return it so be it. I would not return to the place that put me in another place. My trike is barely wider then when it was a bagger. I am willing to bet there are more then a few Trikers that are Vets and have disabilities that keep them off two wheels. When and if someone would say something to me I would ask if they supported disabled Vets and Inform them that is why I ride a Trike.

Hell, I've always waved to mopeds and M/C cops also. I don't see a big enough difference when on 2 or 3 wheels to see a trend. Except for the fact that fewer and fewer people wave at all. As far as seperate parking. Things like that really annoy me. I personally wouldn't waste my time or money at a place like that.