BMW R1100RT two pac insta trike

Hi group
just found this forum and it's great
I have a 1998 R1100RT and just installed an Insta Trike kit from Tow Pac with 12 in wheels. I'm struggling with the adjustments. It came really stiff- high preload on outrigger wheels and it hanlded OK but with high steering force. I called the factory and they said lighten up on the wheel preload where the wheels just barely touch the ground. I did and it didn't work. Now it's spongy and very hard to handle with excessive lean. I called the factory again and they said to go back to original setting-- basically trial and error. I'm going back to a stiff setting and will have to experiment. I live in very south Louisiana and the roads have a crown in them making handling the trike diffricult. I hope the stiff setting will result in a more controllable ride.

Have any of you ever put this kid on a R1100RT? How will two up riding affect the setting? I'm new to trikes and that first ride is really fun. It will take time to get used to steering rather than leaning but I know it will get better with time.
thks

I can't comment on the BMW as mine is installed on a Goldwing. If the adjustments haven't helped, do you have air shocks or are they adjustable? Of course this doesn't affect steering but harshness of ride. What is your air pressure in the TP tires?

Comparing steering to 2 wheels, I think it's very stiff for everyone who has this conversion. Changing the rake improves this but then you can't go back to 2 wheels. When coming into a turn make your entire arm rigid like a lever and rotate from the torso pushing against the handlebar grip and pulling with the opposing hand. That way you don't muscle your way through the turn exhausting your arm. I use this same technique in kayaking as I do a trunk rotation as the power behind the paddle in the paddle stroke and not the arm muscles.