torque from compensator sprocket

Jul 16, 2013
lake wales, fl. usa
OK, you motorheads I just visited my local Harley shop and was told by them I would probably be just as well off changing the compensator sprocket instead of going to a 30 tooth tranny sprocket and the labor costs would be so much less. will I gain about the same low end torque by going that route or am I not going to see any difference. I have been doing a lot of research on this subject for my converted 2007 flhtc with a Champion kit and now a new issue came up with changing a different sprocket. has anyone out there tried this approach yet and if you have how did it work?

Yes, absolutely! It's a lot less work to change the compensator sprocket and the sprocket itself is cheaper. You have to remove the outer primary cover, the clutch and primary drive including the compensator, to get to the pulley. You only have to remove the outer primary cover to get to the compensator. You might even get lucky like I did and not have to pull the clutch, although you shouldn't count on that. Plus you don't have to change or even readjust the belt. The primary adjuster should take up the extra slack in the primary chain. It did on mine.

Going from a 32 tooth pulley to a 30 tooth is a 6.7% increase in rpm. If you were cruising at say 2500 rpm, now you'll cruise at 2667. In my case, I went from a 25 tooth compensator to 23 teeth.

That change is 8.6%. I went from 2500 to 2717. Pretty dang close, closer than you can probably read on your tach. Made a world of difference on my 80-incher. I think you'll be very pleasantly surprised. And if you ever do need a new belt, the stock one will fit.

This is absolutely the easier and cheaper way to do this job. Pocket the difference and take a trip. :)