From Harrogate Yorkshire to San Diego

Sep 12, 2014
San Diego
I have been on another forum and saw about this place... and now I have a '14 HD Tri-glide I decided to join up.

I have been riding bikes in England since '74 and I owned a DT175, CB250 K4 Yamaha 250 and my first big bike a Z650 Kawasaki. Then I discovered Italian bikes, first it was a Laverda 1000 then another Z550 and another Laverda and then I bought a Ducati 900ss and my last one was a 748. Both reliable!

I was enjoying Ducati ownership (and the social that went with it) until '06 when an idiot in a Range Rover decided to pull out an t bone me and I ended up losing my left leg above the knee.

In Aug '11 I met a lovely woman who became my wife in January this year and I am now a permanent resident and in 3 years time citizenship.

End of March El Cajon Harley sold us a new '14 Trike and as I can't hold up a 500lb+ 2 wheel bike with a dodgy knee, it had to be 3 wheels.

I have had to have a Kliktronic fitted so I can change gears. It is brilliant and works well.

IMG_0411.jpg

IMG_0416.jpg

The handle is so I can get it into neutral easily

Now I have had a stage one, Fullsac x pipe and S&S a/c and Street Cannons fitted.
Next I have to sort the seat! If Harley can't fit a comfy stock seat I sure as hell ain't going to give them more money for a better one.
So far a recover is favourite choice or it might have to be a Road Zeppelin
All the Ducati bikes had a Sargent seat fitted and I personally tested the seat on the 748 for 800+ miles in a day and the only part of me that didn't ache was my bum!

I have always liked Harleys ever since one of my mates had a XLCR in the late 70's and I was very close to buying one as well, but the lure of a Laverda was stronger.

I have only done over 1k miles and it is great to be out on a bike/trike again. It takes a bit of getting used to riding in a t shirt, because in England and Europe I would always have full leathers on.

IMG_0378.jpg