In search of a softer clutch pedal

My clutch pedal is hard to push down. In fact it wears me out shifting. I was considering changing to a pedal & cylinder combo. My pedal pushes an actuator rod to a master cylinder (see pic). I am looking for any option to make the clutch easier to push. Any ideas??????20130312_171619 (2).jpg

I have my 1st VW trike and have less than 2K miles on it thanks to a much less than honest previous owner in Ok. Also, l am mechanically declined, so I'm no expert. But, when I got mine it almost took 2 feet to push the clutch. The mechanic at Moberly's in Baton Rouge put a pre-load tube on it. It's just a bent piece of tubing that the clutch cable runs through. I don't know why it works, but it now pushes like a VW clutch.
Thanks for your time.

It sounds like he installed a bowden tube. The adjustment of the bowden tube is very important for correct VW clutch operation. It's the black tube with the cable running through it in the picture.ThumbUp
296754.jpg

In reply to the original post, here's some hints for softer pedal:

1. Make sure the leverage of the pedal is minimum 8 to 1 (check the distances from the hinge point to the push rod, and then the hinge point to the pedal that you push). Even 9:1 or 10:1 are feasible, but not lower than 8:1.

2. Get a master cylinder with a smaller bore, like 5/8". I'll bet the one you have has 3/4" bore. The smaller bore will let you move fluid at a softer (lower) rate of flow. The clutch slave cylinder on the market will work perfectly with a good 5/8" bore. Hint: a small Harley brake master cylinder will work perfectly with the aftermarket standard clutch slave cylinders. Or vendors like Jamar offer great master cylinders to fit your needs. If you are using a standard VW master cylinder (as it looks like in the photo), you are trying to move a much higher quantity of fluid at a time whichs means lower pressure. Lower the volume and you lower your pressure required when you push.