GL1500A power loss

Ol' Man Jeb

1750+ Posts
Sep 8, 2013
Bettendorf, Ia
My Motortrike (39903 miles) has been sitting in my garage hooked up to a battery tender for about 4 mos. I was puttzing around out there today and decided to fire it up. Turned the key, all the usual lights & gauges came on, gave 'er some choke, hit the start button and all the lights & gauges went out immediatly. The neutral light dimly cycled on and off. While dumbfoundedly scratching my head, I heard a faint clicking noise similar to a relay that started out slow then sped up and stopped. Battery checks 11.5V. Can anyone bail me out? Thanks for your input.

Sounds like a "dead" battery...

- bum battery tender?
- tender attached but not plugged in to live socket? A-C socket loses power when garage lights go off?
- bad battery - won't hold charge regardless of tender?

I'm no expert, but I don't think 11.5 volts is enough to start your 1500...

Let us know results when problem is solved - good luck. ThumbUp

Sounds like a "dead" battery...

- bum battery tender?
- tender attached but not plugged in to live socket? A-C socket loses power when garage lights go off?
- bad battery - won't hold charge regardless of tender?

I'm no expert, but I don't think 11.5 volts is enough to start your 1500...

Let us know results when problem is solved - good luck. ThumbUp
Is it O.K. to jump start? I'd think 11.5 v would light the dash lights and gauges but I don't even know that.:blush:

Is it O.K. to jump start? I'd think 11.5 v would light the dash lights and gauges but I don't even know that.:blush:

Yes you can jump start a GL1500. Disconnect the bike battery and attach the jumper cables directly to the bike cables.

Before you buy a new battery see if you can charge it and then put a load tester on it. I've seen a tiny bit of corrosion on battery terminals cause your issue.

Hope you get going. Spring is coming. :xszpv::xszpv: