New member Eleva, WI with bad luck Need advice!

I purchased a 2016 Tri Glide recently after breaking my leg and ankle in 3 places fighting a house fire in early January. (I'm a volunteer firefighter) I own 3 other Harleys but knowing it will be a long recovery and likely weakness in that leg my wife insisted we get a trike. The dealer was storing the trike and was supposed to deliver it last Saturday. I requested they install Harleys clear paint protection Part Number 83989-10A. a day before the scheduled delivery they called and said they had issues with air bubbles and would like to order a replacement kit and attempt the install again.

After some discussion I opted to just have them send me the replacement kit and deliver the trike. So Saturday the big day ,we waited for the dealer to arrive at the scheduled delivery time. We waited and then the phone rings. It's the dealer and there was a problem.

They attempted to remove the film they applied and found that wherever there was an air bubble had stained the paint and they were unable to remove the stains. Dealer said they would have to call Harley on Monday and find out weather to repaint or replace both rear fenders, trunk, and panels. It was Wednesday before I finally got the answer. They are repainting all the parts. I am very concerned about this seeing the trike only has 1 mile and I've never taken possession of the trike. I contacted Harley customer care with my concerns and they said a repaint is the most common repair due to the long wait required if they were to order replacement parts. I was told anywhere from 12 to 16 weeks for new parts vs. a week and a half for a repaint.