Front tire wear

Aug 18, 2009
Huntsville, AL
I notice that the front tire on my GW MT has almost no grooves in the center of the tire (in the contact patch area). Since I am pretty new to trikes, I don't know if this is common, or if my front tire is in need of replacement. Can any of you seasoned vets lend me a bit of insight?

I bought the bike used, had it triked, and the front tire remains from the previous owner. I don't know if it was ever replaced on the bike or not.

Short answer - I don't know.

I've only got 4000+ on my Stock Tire on my 2010 Gold Wing Trike....I'm guessin' 6000 tops right now. Significant wear this last 1000 miles...:(.....oh well, been stickin' great though...the "Main Thing" with me.....:yes::cool:

DO NOT PUT A STOCK TIRE BACK ON..... Replace the front tire with a rear tire the same size as the one you take off the front. The original front 2 wheel tire is not designed to scrub corners it is designed to bend. U now want the rear tire properties. so the tire of choice is the Pilot Activ. I have found that almost any rear tire of the size you remove off the front will work 5 times better than the one on the bike . Some say put it on backwards . The jury is still out on that one . I did with mine . I now have 13,000 on mine and it looks like at least another 6k or 7K to go . you also want a Bias ply not a radial . I know you have a radial tires on the back ... yes you want a bias tire on the front not a radial they are much to soft. You will notice an improvement in handling in the firs 1 mile you drive it . i sear to GOD this is not a joke JUST DO it

dazed_smiley.gif
!sseug I ti od ot dias esle enoemos esuaceb tsuj ,wonk t'nod I