New Guy From Maryland

May 18, 2016
Elkridge
Hi Everyone!

New guy from Maryland, I currently ride a 2005 Electra Glide. I have been riding for 38 years on two wheels. My Electra Glide has 77k miles on it and it is time for a new toy. I am also a disabled police officer, and going to 3 wheels would make things a lot easier. I actually find myself avoiding rides over 30 or 45 minutes now and did not even break 2k miles in the last 2 years!

I went to Old Glory HD and test drove a new Tri Glide, to be honest I HATED IT. I almost canceled the test drive while I was still in the parking lot. I stuck with it, and we went on a 6 mile combination of straight roads (55 mph) and a nice twisty 35 mph road. Things got a little better as I went on.

It seems "darty" on the road, but I guess you get used to that, and it is really because of the immediate steering feedback I suppose.

We went on some curvy back roads, I felt as if i were near tipping on the curves. I was pretty much at 35 - so logically, I assume I am actually NOWHERE near the limit of the machine as far as tipping it over goes, but I am not 100% sure given how it feels. I now realize that I was not shifting myself from side to side in the turns and I was pulling to turn, not pushing - that may make a difference.

It is "more work" to ride on the back road, but I think some of that may be me working against myself making it worse than it really is. Does it feel more tippy with 2 up?

The roominess of the thing is FANTASTIC - I am 6'5 and 375 lbs, If I put my tall boy seat from my Electra Glide on it I would probably be even more comfy. Not sure if you can lower the floor boards or not, you at least do not have to worry about the reduced clearance!

That 103 is like a Cadillac motor compared to my 88 and I love the idea of having 6th gear.