I broke my Glock!

Jun 15, 2013
Red Banks, MS
I have been shooting Glocks for over 25 years. Never had one break. They are the most trouble-free firearm I ever owned...until a couple of days ago.

I shot my first mag, dropped it, and went to shoot the next mag and nothing. No trigger. Took me a minute to see what was going on. The trigger spring had broken.

I've owned 13-14 Glocks over the years (currently have 4) and never had a failure, nor have I ever observed anyone else have a problem. So this took me a bit by surprise.

All I've ever done with my Glocks (besides shoot & clean them) is to replace the plastic guide rod assembly with a steel one. Oh, and add a backstrap plug to them.

Did a search and found that they do indeed fail, and that the trigger spring is the most common failure.

I have a Ghost Edge 3.5 trigger kit on the way, along with some other goodies.

Anyone else have Glock failures that you've experienced/observed?

Kevin

I'm retired Law Enforcement and a Glock armorer. We carried Glock 22's & 27's and were a 100 man department. The most common failure we saw were pin failures. Most other issues were a direct result of the failure of the nut behind the trigger and the result of neglect.

Older Glock trigger bars have a straight leg where the spring attaches. Newer trigger bars have a little jog in that leg to relieve stress on the spring. A common failure. NY plastic trigger springs eliminate that entirely.

A 6 lb. trigger spring will help the trigger pull along with your new connector.

I'm retired Law Enforcement and a Glock armorer. We carried Glock 22's & 27's and were a 100 man department. The most common failure we saw were pin failures. Most other issues were a direct result of the failure of the nut behind the trigger and the result of neglect.

This is a 21. Pretty sure it was not the nut behind the trigger. lol :)