Clutch Change

Sep 12, 2010
Monongahela,PA USA
Anyone here ever put a clutch in a 1500 with a trike kit on it?
I have been given many different scenarios from "Let the dealer do it" to "its easy, do it yourself"
I have heard the motor has to come out but the manual doesn't show that.
I have heard you have to drill the staked nut or risk re-threading or replacing the main shaft.
A Honda mechanic told me he has only replaced 1 in his career and wouldn't want to do it again.
My kit installer said there is plenty of room, do it yourself.
I have heard you need special tools and have seen them made on other sites.
I would really like to get a good honest answer from someone who has done the job. I am a mechanic so tools except for "honda specialty tools" are not a problem.
First I am going to change the fluids and ck the M/C to make sure the ports are not plugged and if they aren't, I will be changing or having the clutch changed.
Thanks in advance for the info

While I have never worked on the honda engine my advice is find some one who has changed the clutch out on a honda trike.
You may be mechanly inclined and have the tools to do it being it is a trike you could get in over your head real easy.

Changed out the fluids and engine oil and cleaned the ports in the clutch master cyl today, feels a little better but still disengages with only a slight pull on the lever I am not sure I like the feel of that. I will have to try another bike soon and compare.

You need a special tool. You can do it without motor removal (I saw it done ) there is some kind of a clamp thing that is needed ) U must get trike about 2 feet off the ground . NOT AN EASY JOB. If u can find someone that has done it , I would . Also it took a trained Honda man 3 hours to do it. Easier on a trike than when it was a bike I was told by him .