Low Speed Wobble

Apr 20, 2010
Peeltown, TX
I checked the threads and didn't see a lot posted on this. My Honda dealer says low speed wobble is common to trikes and not much can be done about it. I have an 09 Wing with the Motor Trike IRS with the 4.5 rake. I'm not a super mechanic but I seem to remember having a 2 wheel wing years ago that had the wobble and a fork brace seemed to correct it. I have a new Pilot on the front as well. I am really interested in comments from the forum regarding any experiences/fixes with this issue. Thanks for any comments

Alan :Flag:

Alan,
Check the balance on the tire. I had a simular problem with my trike when it was new (2005). I installed a Super Brace (Fork Brace) and it corected the problem.

Torque check the steering head.
Check front tire for cupping/balance.
IMHO, your Honda dealer is behind the times and misinformed!
Tested many trikes before picking my conversion. The study went on for 4 years! Trike without rake kits and those with rake kits that retained the OEM type bearings, had the low speed wobble. Usually came in at about 20mph and left at around 40mph.
Those with properly installed rake kits which included tapered bearings did not have the wobble.

Last edited:
Alan, I have an '01' Goldwing with a Motor Trike kit. No rake or fork brace, and have never had any problems with wobble. I have been running an MPA or BT45 on the front for most of the 106,000 miles I have had the bike. Might suggest as Trikeleader has, check the balance and tire that you are running. Ride safe.