Route 66 Road Conditions

I'm pretty new to Triking. One thing I noticed after buying my 2008 Honda 1800 CSC Trike was that, on a trike, you have a harder time missing bumps in the road. In fact while driving for the first time on a frontage road...and we all know how well frontage roads are maintained...the road had wrinkled in the Arizona sun and gave a horrible ride. And I couldn't miss any of the bumps because at least one wheel was always over them. Consequently I had to lower my speed a lot.

Since it has been our dream to ride old Route 66. I'm wondering now, because Route 66, like the frontage road, isn't repaved on a regular basis (I assume anyway) and thought I'd ask someone if this is a worry to be considered or not. I would hate to be on a road such as the frontage road near my home for such a long way. So...is old route 66 still rideable on a trike?

We hit parts of Route 66 during our 'big trip' last August - it didn't seem to be any worse than regular city streets anywhere in the country. Granted, we didn't go for any long distances, but I would think it is as well maintained as any other state highway. Other experiences??

Did the entire route in Sept 2008 on 2 wheels. For the most part, road conditions were ok. The worst part was about 40 miles east of Barstow, CA. I was pulling a trailer and the road was real bad. I got on I-40 to finish ride into Barstow. We had one GW Trike that blew a fork seal and a Harley that lost all his rear lights on that particular section of the Mother Road. other than those 2 incidents, no problems from Chicago to Santa Monica.

agree with the comment about tire pressure. As Blondigal stated, we rode a good portion of 66 last fall, and other than adjusting speed on less traveled sections of the mother road, wasn't bad at all.:Trike1: