Return to a Trike

Jan 20, 2020
ENNIS
Well....I just made it a full circle. I had been riding trikes since 2012 and got a wild hair two years ago. I genuinely missed the handling of the two wheels. In about three days I will be picking up a trike again and getting rid of my Indian RM Classic. A beautiful bike. However, after having bikes with a reverse since 2003, it was a drag having to back into a parking space manually. I have two steel knees compliments of Viet Nam and two steel shoulders from the same senior trip. I had gone to a trike because of this to begin with but have stayed active.

I ride a bicycle for 11 miles a day every day but old man time still marches on. It was getting to the point where my knees are iffy at times so it is back to the trike. I have to admit, it is like old home week for me. The trike is a comfort and gives me back a lot of the flexibility or where I can ride that two wheels cannot. It also lets me relax more in town. No...not get sloppy....just not have to worry about holding the bike up in uncomfortable ground.

I have been riding for over 58 years. When I first went back to two wheels, I took an advanced motorcycle safety course as a refresher. By the way, the "Ride Like a Pro" course and drills are a great technique refresher. Over the last two years, it has become increasingly difficult for my wife to climb on board since I have to be on the bike when she gets on. With the trike, she can get on easier because I do not have to be on board holding the bike up while she nests. Makes things easier for her. I had to eat a lot of crow when I decided to go back to the trike but once I dealt with that, it was like old home week and I am just so glad to be back in the trike business.