New Project

Dec 30, 2014
Grand Junction, Co. USA
I've been considering this for a few years ... and I thing it's time.

My home built (modified boat trailer) has a 6' x 6' ramp that is awesome for getting the trike or bike onto the trailer. It's made with 8 1" x 2" rectangular tubes and a square frame of the same. The problem is that the ramp when going down the road stands straight up. Even though it has expanded metal on it, it causes some serious drag going down the road.

My though is to cut it into two, 3' x 6' pieces, then adding a 1' x 2' tube to each section. Then put hinges along that new edge and make it so the ramp can be folded down on itself and only stand 3' tall when going down the road.

I'm thinking the materials to do this would cost about $100, includes welding gas and wire.

So, what do you think? Is it worth abusing my body to get this done? The ramp right now weighs in about 330#, so this is not gonna be an easy project on my own.

Build 06 (1).jpg

Trike On 2.jpg

Aces Loaded (1).jpg

I think you need an Aluma TK1 trailer with electric brakes and spare tire, weighs only 550# and the ramp stows underneath the trailer bed.....for sale cheap ... and I know where you can get one... :D

Get rid of the tailgate and just use aluminum ramps.:)

I would need two ramps ... I looked into that and there are several obstacles.

Good idea, way lighter and more functional.

The main obstacle is where to store the ramps, and how to ensure the ramps don't come off when I put the trike on or off the trailer.

I think you need an Aluma TK1 trailer with electric brakes and spare tire, weighs only 550# and the ramp stows underneath the trailer bed.....for sale cheap ... and I know where you can get one... :D

I tried that ... but alas ... the seller backed out ... sorta ... :D

I even tried ordering a new one closer to home ... that didn't work either.