I m thinking about getting a trike, and I have questions.

May 11, 2014
Wisconsin
I have been riding a V Star 1100 for 4 years, and would like to get a trike. My wife needs a better seat for comfort. I like the looks of my bike and like how reliable it is. I have a few friends who have VW trikes, they love them. I think they are cool, but my wife likes the looks of the Harley Tri glides. I cant afford a Tri Glide, but I think I could build a trike that would be comfortable and look cool. I would like to know what you guys think would be a good choice for me? Do I build a VW trike, or do I try to build a trike out of my V Star? I have also thought about getting a front wheel drive car and making a trike out of it, but I think they would be hard to make cool. But I like how reliable they can be.

So this is what I am up against, and look forward to hearing what you guys have to say. Thank you

Re: I m thinking about getting a trike, and I have questions.

Depends on how handy you are. I have a TriGlide and its nice to sit back and let the clowns at HD take care of issues. I also have a VW. You really need to be hands on with that. Being my first VW, I am still learning plenty.

If you like your V Star so much, why not trike it? You should be able to find another seat that would make your wife happy too.

Nobody can tell you what to do. It basically comes down to how much money you want to spend, your mechanical abilities, and what feels good for you. Good luck with whatever you choose to do. No one here ever regrets triking their bikes. We love 'em.:)

Yup, VWs require some maintenance, frequent oil changes, valve adjustments, tune ups, clutch adjustments, brake adjustments. It helps if you can do those things yourself but there are shops that will do it for you for a price. Keep the maintenance up and they are very dependable engines, the tran-axles are bulletproof. Parts are still easy to find and not terribly expensive.