Swivel or straight hitch??

Burnerboy

2000+ Posts
Sep 2, 2016
Springfield, Mass. USA
How much does a swivel hitch make a difference??

I've been towing using a straight hitch for years since 2001 and never a problem!

BUT lately I've been hearing the words swivel hitch that many of you have used... How much difference does it really make?? My bike is now triked out, so would a swivel make any difference now??

Ronnie

I was like you and used a straight hitch for years on my bike, never had a problem. In the process of building a trailer for my trike now and planning on using a regular hitch on it simply because I never lean in a curve now and hopefully won't lay it on its' side!!!!

I have a swivel hitch on my trailer simply because it was on there when I was on 2 wheels. I personally don't think there is a need for one on a trike since everything works the same way as on a cage and they don't put them on.

The used trailer I purchased for the trike already had a swivel and I wish it didn't. Going down the road it will rotate to one side instead of staying straight. See no need for it on a trike and the built in swivel of a standard hitch is sufficient for normal use.

The used trailer I purchased for the trike already had a swivel and I wish it didn't. Going down the road it will rotate to one side instead of staying straight. See no need for it on a trike and the built in swivel of a standard hitch is sufficient for normal use.

I purchased a used Lees-ure-lite camper a few years back that had the swivel hitch on it. I converted it to a straight hitch and had them "standing in line" to buy the swivel hitch. They can be rather "pricey" so there is always a market for a used one.