Tax day--today i decided to build a vw trike

Apr 15, 2014
colorado
;) Need lots of input for my VW trike build. I have no experience at all. Have owned Harleys and dirt bikes but nothing with three wheels. I want a long build--120" wheelbase for stability. I have a 1970 VW Beetle for a donor rear axle subframe that works well. Looking to purchase a 1600 engine. Already have the transmission. Need advice on frame build, front wheel diameter, front fork length and style, individual seating for one driver and one or two passengers. Decided on 205X15R tires. Not sure of using round tube or rectangle steel for frame. No problem titling trike here in Colorado. Lots of questions regarding attachment of frame build to subframe. I want to mount shifter on top somehow--not on side of frame. Any designs available besides Big Yella out there. Thanks for your input.

Get on you tube and watch onetonmagoo videos , his name is Conrad Lawerance he has a great collection of videos and a talented builder . If you go to wild man trikes he sells unwelded tubing , welded tubing , or complete frames it's up to you . Hope this helps ,,,Rick ThumbUp

There are as many kinds of trikes as people who build them. Google VW trike on the internet. There are a lot of pictures and you should find some that look good to you. The 1600 is a good engine to use. I have three of them in different vehicles. I put 30" diameter tires on my trike which are larger than stock but it works great with the gearing because the trike is lighter than a bug. Any questions just ask.ThumbUp

Slick Rick--Thanks for the info. I went and check out onetonmagoo's video's. Think I need a larger screen on my computer. He made a lot of videos and did like the one about head placement. I also stumbled upon a build called Big Yella. Has anyone purchased this video/manual and is it any good? I might be interested in buying this to determine height of head and best angles etc if they explain this stuff in the manual.