Blackstone Oil Analysis Labs

MDO

Oct 11, 2017
St. Louis, MO USA
I just took a sample of my engine oil and I am sending it off to Blackstone Labs for an analysis. I have 6,101 miles on my engine & 2,201 miles on the oil since switching to Lucas 20W50 Full Synthetic High Performance Oil. The CA HD dealer put in Syn3 at the 1,000 mile service & I kept it till I had around 3,900 miles, then switched to Lucas.​ Those miles were mainly highway from CA back to STL. I know switching to Lucas gave me better shifting & it was immediate.

I have never done this before, but am curious to see how that oil is doing. Hopefully, this will tell me how that brand is doing & if I can go longer. I know I rode in several 95-100 degree days.

Anyone try them & how were the results?

Blackstone has a great reputation

I have not used them, how ever the trucking firm my dad worked for used them when breaking in Mack diesels

Blackstone strongly recommended @ that time they switch to Shell oil from the Penzoil they had been using;)

I am curious to see the results.

I hope they don't tell me the Lucas is junk, I have 2 more changes of it left. I have Quicksilver for the diff. & tranny this winter.

Blackstone has a great reputation

I have not used them, how ever the trucking firm my dad worked for used them when breaking in Mack diesels

Blackstone strongly recommended @ that time they switch to Shell oil from the Penzoil they had been using;)

Don't know squat about Blackstone Labs, but I'd be leery of any lab that "steered" me toward another alternate product.

Now if they were to compare my oil to at least a few different brand x offerings, and their molecular laboratory analysis/breakdowns, I might make a switch to a superior product.

Bottom line: Buyer Beware...

I used Blackstone Labs to test four different oil samples over four oil changes on a new motorcycle about nine years ago. I did this to see which oil I preferred for the operating conditions the motorcycle would encounter.