Why are there so few trike dealers?

brianl

300+ Posts
May 16, 2013
leominster, ma. USA
I was wondering why there are so few trike dealers. There obviously seems to be a good market for them, people travel thousands of miles to buy them, you'd think more shops would do it. Is it that hard to do an install? I read where many owners install the kits themselves, I would think it would be easy for a bike mechanic. Just wondering if anyone knows why.

When I had my bike converted, it was done at my local HD dealer, whom I've been doing business with for over 25 years. I spoke with the owner about trikes, and he told me they sell all the TriGlides they get in, but the market for conversion Harleys is soft in comparision. He said he didn't want to tie up capital in a conversion which will not sell as quickly as a TriGlide. This makes good economic sense to me, but unfortunately limits what is available on the local trike market.

When I had my bike converted, it was done at my local HD dealer, whom I've been doing business with for over 25 years. I spoke with the owner about trikes, and he told me they sell all the TriGlides they get in, but the market for conversion Harleys is soft in comparision. He said he didn't want to tie up capital in a conversion which will not sell as quickly as a TriGlide. This makes good economic sense to me, but unfortunately limits what is available on the local trike market.

I wouldn't think it would take much of an investment to offer the service to people who want their own bike done. I suppose you'd have to spend the money to train your mechanic, but they should be able to recoup that soon enough. I don't see that many Harleys that are triked, but there sure seem to be a lot of Goldwings.