5.56 ammo question

Reaction score
Are there any AR "buffs" in here? If so, I have a few questions concerning ammo, preferences, and why.

I'm a rookie when it comes to this level of firearm so to speak; I'm learning, but to learn, you have to ask the questions!
I'm going to primarily be using 75-77 gr in my 5.56. Due to availability issues with these loads overall, I'd like some input about a secondary round.
I'm looking at either -
XM193 5.56x45 55gr Full Metal Jacket .. OR
XM855 5.56x45 62 gr SS109 Steel Core
which would you recommend and why?

Not an expert by any means, however it makes a big difference if you know the barrell twist. From my experience the 7 to 9 twist is more accurate with the 62 grain bullett.

Suppose that would have helped a bit!
14.5” Shilen 416R stainless, 4 groove ratchet rifling with a 1:8 twist. It’s hand lapped with a medium heavy cotour, mid length gas wylde chamber.. Templar Tactical flash hider that’s tac welded to the barrel

When I hand load for the 5.56 I use the 55 gr hornady SX bullets, does a great job from chucks to coyotes. I did shoot one deer with it but it does a lot of meat damage.

Your 1 in 8 barrel SHOULD stabilize the heavier 75 grain bullets.

Your best bet is to take different types of ammo to the range and see what the
rifle shoots best.

The 62 grain is a penetrator round. It should make nice little holes all the
way thru whatever you are shooting at. HOWEVER it may not make a good
home defense round.

Black Hills makes some nice soft point and hollow point ammo.

The TAP rounds have a good reputation with law enforcement.
You may not be able to get the 5.56 version, but the .223 ones
are usually for sale somewhere.

If you havnt been to www.ar15.com, there is a lot of information there.