• It appears that you have unread Personal Messages - Please check your inbox!

Rake & Trail

Reaction score
Do trikers worry about setting up R/T on trikes?
I'll be going from a 15" rear M/T to 2 17" C/T on the rear. The front I am moving up from a 17" spoke to a 18" cast rim. Adding 6* rake for easy steer. Will I need to add the 2" extensions in the forks like two wheelers do when they add a 6* kit?
All help is appreciated..................thanks.

The bike should make for a very good trike.----- You may find you need the 50mm extensions to get sufficient ground clearance , I'm in the same position with the M109 ie low is great for handling but not so good for road works & speed humps.

Rake/Trail Info

I'm a newbie triker. Have put a total of 25 miles on my new-to-me '95 GW1500 with CSC conversion. I am the third owner. Second owner purchased it for his wife, and she decided she would rather ride two-up with him.

Anyway, when I asked about the rake, they said they thought it had "a little rake" and didn't think it steered hard at all. With my short experience, I really am not unhappy with the effort required to turn, but it is firm and maybe my opinion will change after some longer trips.

My immediate problem is with the front "wobble" at slow speeds around town. Is this correctable with more rake and is there a way for me to actually measure how much rake, if any, it has now?

The "wobble" is manageable but disconcerting for a new rider. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Re: Rake/Trail Info

Are you sure the front is actually "wobbling". When I first converted my Ultra I found I was trying to countersteer the trike like a two wheeler causing it to weave in the road. That went away after about 50 miles. If it is, in fact, wobbling you can tighten the "fall away" on the front end and it should help a lot.

ricle41,