Not so sure

Apr 22, 2010
Vienna IL.
Now that I got my suspension sorted out and have been riding a little more I have to say I'm not in love with my trike. I like it, it is...well... different, but I'm not happy with some of the trade offs you get with a trike. I have been riding motorcycles for forty years, on road and off road, and recently had major back surgery and I thought a trike would be the way to go, at least much easier on my back. Now riding in the twisty's is a real chore, you really got to manhandle the trike around curves. And the side to side jerkyness just hurts sometimes. So I took my old two wheeler out for a cruise the other day and felt much more comfortable. Now my wife says one of them has to go, she needs room in the garage for her bike, so what to do? I guess what I'm asking is, how long does it take to fall in love with a trike? Am I giving up too soon? I still can't take long trips on it yet because of the surgery, but I don't know if I can ever get used to that steering.

Every trike kit rides and feels different..

It took me about 500 miles to feel good and now everytime I ride I love it a little more.. Everyone is different that is why we stress to ride every different trike kit U can. Do U have the front end raked???

Maybe someone else can give U some better advice than me,

good luck

Madfoxx, Katfish is right about the rake. If you don't have the front end raked, it is much harder to steer. If you know someone who has one with a rake like EZ steer, see if they will let you take a ride to compare. I think you would find a big difference.

If you already have the rake..... some of our other experienced members may have other suggestions.

With a Yamaha Roadstar, what conversion does he have and what type of suspension on the rear end?

I have a Roadstar sitting in my garage, and went to a Goldwing because I really wasn't satisfied with the choices available for the Yamaha.