Tow Pac in the back of my truck

dadztoy

300+ Posts
Dec 12, 2011
Georgetown, Tennessee, USA
The wife and I love to travel and I have been wanting to get her out to see the Giant Sequoia's in California but just turning 70, I didn't really care to ride 4-5 days out and 4-5 days back from Eastern Tennessee where we live and neither does she... I've been riding for a good many years (45+) and have ridden in all kinds of weather - - - snow, sleet, rain, wind, tornadoes, remnants of hurricanes) and have nothing to prove at my age... So a little more comfort when traveling is our desired method of travel these days and the truck provides that while hauling the bike/trike and gear...

I looked at a number of different solutions, and for the way we travel and where we stay, a Rampage lift worked better for us that a trailer, so I "sprung" for a Rampage Lift...

I did a lot of measurements before I bought it, and calculated I could load the bike with the Tow Pac attached if I removed the fenders... In order to be convenient, I would have to make the fenders quick disconnect, which I did by epoxying the lock nuts to their brackets and adding molex style plugs to the aux lighting on the fenders...

We just came back from Chicago where I rode in "The Amazing Challenge" event sponsored by my old MC club, and this was the first experience hauling the trike back and forth... The truck is a 2000 F-250SD with Triton V10 and full Banks kit, so it has plenty of power to haul the bike and then some... Mileage isn't it's strong suite as it was built with towing/hauling in mind, but it's been paid off for a long time, so we live the lower gas mileage... We average about 11-12 mpg at highway speeds...