Fork Seal interval??

KYBubblehead

Aug 1, 2017
Covington, KY, US
I'm new to trikes; should I be thinking about doing my sliders/fork seals on a more frequent basis?

I have a rake kit with my Motor Trike conversion....

On my '03 (2 wheeler) , I did it at 60K miles.... I have 23K on the trike now.

Thanks!

Unfortunately, Honda gives no suggestions on periodic fork maintenance other then an external inspection. Basically if a seal begins to leak, then repair is needed. However, some will overhaul their forks every 25k, while other will only change their fork fluid at that interval. The angle of rake kits does speed up slider/bushing wear. Probably around 80-100k you will see excessive wear in the slider bore.

If you are looking for PM suggestions, here is what you might consider. Replace the tapered steering head bearings every 25k, and do a fork OH every 40k.

Had a MM1 that worked for me back in the mid-late 80's that was on the Michigan when they blew up the clutch/Red. gears. His name was MM1 Moreau

On my '07 MT conversion, I had the forks rebuilt at around 48000 miles. The reason, I could notice more sagging when we loaded, especially 2-up. I did have a small seal leak at around 30k miles, but the "film" cleaning of the seal stopped it.

The mechanic allowed me to see the bushings, which showed surprisingly little wear, he didn't even recommend replacing them. So, a good cleaning, new springs, synthetic fork oil & new seals, it was ready to go.

I could immediately tell a difference in stance & ride. Especially the first night ride. I had to lower the headlight setting by two clicks on the knob.

I'm new to trikes; should I be thinking about doing my sliders/fork seals on a more frequent basis?

I have a rake kit with my Motor Trike conversion....

On my '03 (2 wheeler) , I did it at 60K miles.... I have 23K on the trike now.

Thanks!