What kind of oil?

Aug 4, 2017
Maysville
According to the paperwork I've got a 2009, 1600cc VW motor on my trike. I have no idea what kind of oil to use but was told it had to have zinc in it??. What about additives? Synthetic oil? etc. Also, it doesn't have a spin on filter but I was told I could get a kit to convert it. Any ideas where? I'm very new to this VW stuff.

According to the paperwork I've got a 2009, 1600cc VW motor on my trike. I have no idea what kind of oil to use but was told it had to have zinc in it??. What about additives? Synthetic oil? etc. Also, it doesn't have a spin on filter but I was told I could get a kit to convert it. Any ideas where? I'm very new to this VW stuff.

I used straight 30 Weight , But that was with a 65 dune buggy, And a 71 and 73 bug...:Shrug:

The problem with oils is that they have changed over the years. Epa rules and the needs of modern cars being much different than our old motors.

You really need an oil formulated for a flat tappet mechanical solid lifter cam.

That means zddp content.

Zddp levels have been restricted low by epa.

So anything correct for our motors is technically illegal to use on the street.

There are specialty high dollar oils for older engines that you can order.

The most available over the counter retail oil is Valvoline VR1 Racing.

Stay as close to 30 weight as you can.

If you have an old loose motor use a little thicker oil until you have sufficient pressure.

Recommended oil

I use Quantum Platinum 5/40 fully synthetic in my 1600 air cooled. When I bought it the previous owner had used some type of oil that emulsified in the oil filler cap area. Since using Quantum I've had no problem at all. The Quantum was recommended by a place that works on aircooled VW's all the time.