Preload shock 2008 GL1800 Cobra

Jan 29, 2022
Spence
Hi All,

I'm new to the Trike community. I bought a 2008 GL1800 California Side car and I think it is the Cobra edition. I can hear the motor working when I adjust it from 0 to 25... However there is no movement. I've watched video's on how to add fluid if it was a plain GL1800. But I can't find any information on how to take the Sidecar off so I can get to the Preload motor. I would also like to replace the rubber hose with the metal one... Does anyone know the part number and where to get it?

Also I would like to also know where i can buy a complete manual to tear down and rebuild this trike.

Thanks

Go down to the Cobra section on this page to download the installation instructions and obviously just work in reverse:

https://californiasidecar.com/support

Direct link to manual to download here:

https://img1.wsimg.com/blobby/go/19...ra & CobraXL Trike 1-20.pdf?ver=1642020130626

As far as the hose, it's not a rubber hose but some kind of thick plastic. I have read a couple threads on other forums where they have mentioned the hose "swelling" but that's just not true and no one has ever been able to provide any proof that this has actually occurred. And actually I have never seen any posts that mentioned it ever bursting as well. I see nothing wrong with doing that upgrade but it really isn't necessary.