Goldwing fork brace

felixpirozzi

50+ Posts
Jan 30, 2011
PITTSBURGH PA
I have a 09 gl1800 with a IRS motortrike kit. Is there an advantage to a fork brace on a trike? I am fairly new to the trike but the steering seems as though it could be tighter, more responsive. I have 6000 miles on also put a 4 1/2 degree rake kit on. That helped a lot. Also put a michellin tire on the origional didn't last too long.

You're at the right place...ThumbUp...just drop down in this same TRIKE TALK.com-Honda Trikes Forum that You are in now, and I have a Thread about the SUPER BRACE on Gold Wing Trikes..."by coincidence", You have the exact same Trike I am riding...Quite a bit of Member Input there...ENJOY the Read.....ThumbUp

No, IMHO! But then I wouldn't put one on a 2 wheeler either. I believe there is very little, if any difference at all for the normal, conservative rider.
Now, it would be a different story if you were Nicky Hayden!
This is one opinion only. There are a lot of Fork Braces sold and a lot of people seem to love them.
There are some trike conversion manufactures that suggest NOT installing a fork brace!
About your front tire. There are also discussions on this always going on! After reading many of these on many boards and reading statements issued by 2 different tire manufacturers-I have mounted a BT45 in reverse on the front of my trike. I am reading of people getting 25,000+ miles from this set-up while most are complaining only getting 6,000 to 8,000 from OEM type front tires.

I put one on my 96se when it was a two wheeler,what I found was the steering was more resonposive at low speed you did not seem to have the lag time feel.
ThumbUpThumbUpThumbUpThumbUp

Thanks for the responce Skuuter. Seems to be a popular topic. It looks like I may be looking into a fork brace. Now it's the matter of which one. I used a Super Brace on a gl1200 I had, and it made a big difference.

Thanks for your input.
Felix