older folks, older riders

dirtdobber

Gone But Never Forgotten
Jul 8, 2011
sand mountain, AL
I have been riding for over 50 years now, thank Father.

Being 13 years old when I got my first bike, Triumph tiger cub.

This was in 1963, During this time no mater how old or young you were we were labeled. Period. No matter how you looked.

Through these years I have seen a lot of advancements not only with motorcycles but people.

In the mid 70's personal freedom really came into play. More and more folks started riding and we were not as much a out cast.

Every few years I would noticed that the bikers were still hung, up to a point, labeled.

By then the metric bikes were a big part of of the motorcycle industry. HD, Triumph, BSA etc... were considered a dream.

Now to my point:

Through these years bikers has helped bikers. That is what we do. We didn't care what you rode, that was left up to 1% and some die hard's.

Example: We were heading home from a trip. Weather was getting bad so we left in a hurry and I did not check the tires.

Opps.

We ran into rain again but with no hard winds. Stopped for fuel and check my tires. My gauge was missing. Another Opps.

I go into the store and they don't sell me. I told my wife we will stop to get one real soon. Well this older chap comes up to me asking a lot of questions then said you have a tire that looks low. I said yea but no gauge. He looks at me walks away and hands me one. I get finished and hand it back all he said was I don't need it, but you do. Take it with you.

Then he said we are in this together. Shinny side up.

I will not pass a biker with their helmet is on the ground, if I have to I turn around. Hint, if you are not having problem leave your helmet on your SEAT. not the Ground. Some of us are old skool. We just can't shake it. I don't want to.