Expected power loss after conversion.

Hi everyone I'm new to the form. After just abount dumping my 1500 Goldwing a few times over the years we decided to trike it over the winter. We haven't had a chance to try it yet because we still have snow and cold up here. I was wondering what percentage of power can I expect to lose due to the extra weight and drag?

Hi Gyropilot. I just want to give you a big welcome to TrikeTalk! You will have a bit of learning curve (think maybe 200-300 miles) to adjust from the leaning turns to steering the turns, but once you get the feel of it, you will love your trike! Such a feeling of stability and comfort! As for your question on power loss, you'll get lots of replies from experienced goldwing riders, but I'm betting you don't notice a significantly large loss of power.

Hi everyone I'm new to the form. After just abount dumping my 1500 Goldwing a few times over the years we decided to trike it over the winter. We haven't had a chance to try it yet because we still have snow and cold up here. I was wondering what percentage of power can I expect to lose due to the extra weight and drag?

You wont notice much difference in power at all. Its going to seem like an entirely different animal at first but I'll bet you'll love it after 100 miles or so.
Happy triking.

Most conversions use comparable overall geaing eg., using different combinations of final drive ratios and rear tire diameter. The thing that changes is the extra weight added by conversion...(this varies between 185# and 400#) and additonal wind resistance from the fenders at higher speeds.