Rake Q & A

Reaction score
How much rake on a Trike

I am putting a Frankenstein trike kit on my 2004 FXST. I am trying to decide what to do with the triple tree and forks. Fraankenstein suggests a 7 degree triple tree and use the stock forks to decrease the trail. Another place suggests a 9 1/2 degree with 6in. longer forks. Another place suggests 7 1/2 degree with 4 in. longer forks...

Any suggestions from someone with a trike?

Re: rake/trail

Kenny, First of all...Welcome to TrikeTalk!

Two of our member, Grimm and Pup have great looking Frankenstein trikes. Do a search for for any posts and pictures by those two. Click on their name and use "statistics" to find all their posts. You may also want to PM Bazooka as he is the resident rake guru.

I'm far from an expert on rake, but I am truely loving the Frankenstein kit on my cross bones. I have a stock springer front end so it's hard for me to say what's right for your bike but I made absolutly no changes to the front end and the trike is great except for an occasional low speed (under 30 mph)wobble on bumpy roads. The slight part time wobble is not enough to make me rush out and spend big bucks on a raked front end. Grimm on the other hand rides a F stein Night Train and he has 7 degree trees and +4" tubes and he says he loves it that way. Here is a pic of both of our trikes... One extreme to another... Or variations on a theme... Hope this helps...

Pup

OK, here are two cents from a real newbie -- the Frankenstein kit on my Lowrider is just starting to be broken in. (as in, Sunday 5/23!)

Before I did the conversion, I read all I could find on a couple of forums. I found that every single person who did a conversion and then added a raked tree later said "why didn't I do this sooner" !!!