Newcomer...would appreciate advice

Aug 22, 2011
Denver
Hi,

I have been riding motorcycles for nearly 60 years. I currently own a wonderful Yamaha FJR1300 and just reluctantly sold my Honda CRF250x dirt bike. Unfortunately I have developed a severe case of neuropathy in my legs which has left me without much strength in my calves and ankles. No problem when I am up and going, but I have fallen twice standing still with the large bike on top of me. Not fun...and my wife wants me to quit riding.

I am not really ready to give up and want to consider the alternatives. Obviously a trike might be in the cards. Question is what kind to try to buy? And where to look for one? A Gold Wing Trike seems a bit out of my price range. I would like to consider something under $10k...perhaps significantly under that price. I would appreciate any input you can offer. I have looked at several things on Craigslist. I am even considering one of those crazy Italian 3-wheeled Piaggio scooters. I read that, with their innovative steering geometry, they handle and LEAN like a traditional 2-wheeler. Any of you ever ride one? They come in 250, 400, and 500 cc flavors. All singles and without a clutch! Not exactly like my FJR, but they do sound like fun. And they are allegedly stable.

I live in Colorado and would like to ride in the mountains as well as on the flats. I don't plan any long iron-butt rides...and probably mostly will ride one-up. My wife hates motorcycles! I don't have a garage and would need to store it under a cover. Is that viable?

I don't want to get too long-winded and ask too many questions of you. I would love to hear a bit about your riding experience. Are the trikes fun to ride? I know that many of you are diehard trike riders so I would expect you might have a lot to share.

Thanks for anything you can share with me.

Peter Warren
Denver, Colorado